Posted in Language Arts: All Thy Books

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before ♡ A Book Review

Hello beautiful internet people!

I have not posted in this blog for so long, I keep telling myself to post something but I end up procrastinating, I greatly apologize ❤ Anyways, as you can see by the title of this blog post, this is going to be another one of my many book reviews, I changed it up a bit, if you can tell. Let’s get started 🙂


 

to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before-9781442426702_hr

First Impression: The book cover, this is one of the reasons why I grabbed this book in the store!

Author: Jenny Han

Genre: Contemporary

Setting: In an East Coast small town

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ – 5/5

Summary:

Lara Jean keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her.

They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are the ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved-five in all. When she writes, she can pour out her heart and soul and say all the things she would never say in real life, because her love letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

I know what you’re probably thinking right now, “What kind of cheesy stuff is this?” But hear me out, I gave this book 5 stars for a reason 🙂

Why I love this book:

This book has lovable characters and the main character, Lara Jean is so adorable. She’s very naïve about things, it’s because she has a great, protective and strong-minded older sister named Margot. Another thing that I liked about this book is that it has diversity, the characters for example, Lara Jean Song-Covey is a Korean-American girl, I love that.Also it’s not that the character is Asian, diversity is more than that, diversity is the culture in the characters. Here’s a little snippet of Lara Jean and Lucas Krapf’s conversation, first they were talking about Lucas’s sexuality and then Lara Jean’s race:

“I just let people believe what they please. I don’t feel like it’s my responsibility to quantify myself for them. I mean, you get what I’m talking about. As a biracial person, I’m sure people are always asking you what race you are, right?”

I haven’t thought of it that way before, but yes yes yes! Lucas gets it.

“Exactly. It’s like, why do you need to know?”

“Exactly.

We smile at each other and I feel that wonderful sensation of being known by someone.To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

I thought this little dialogue was very nice and very comforting to see in a Young Adult contemporary book. Here’s another way that Jenny Han shows diversity, it’s subtle and brilliant:

Peter brushes past me and starts taking off his sneakers. “You guys are a no-shoes house, right?”

“Yeah,” I say, surprised. –To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

Let’s talk about Lara Jean’s love interest, Peter Kavinsky, the way he teases Lara Jean is so cute and they really just go together, forget about the other four boys Lara Jean used to like, Peter is the winner.

Did I mention that this book is a series? Well it is, so when you decide to buy and read this book, there’s another one that gives you more Lara Jean and Peter Kavinsky, I haven’t read it yet but I’m sure it’s great. The book is called, P.S: I Still Love You.

To wrap things up, I would like to say that Jenny Han’s writing is so simple but there’s so much thought and heart into every single word in the book, and to me, that’s what makes this book a 5 in my eyes. I love it and the story is brilliant. I would happily lend the book to you to read if I can.

My favorite quote in the book:

It feels strange to have spent so much time wishing for something, for someone, and then one day, suddenly just stop. –To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

Well that concludes my book review, if you’re interested on buying this book, here’s a link where you can get it:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before-jenny-han/1115553213?ean=9781442426719

All the love -H x

 

Author:

Professional Fangirl, Book Reader and a full on Netflix watcher.

3 thoughts on “To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before ♡ A Book Review

Leave a comment